For general inquiries e-mail:

If you want to send us mail:
American Conservation Film Festival
P.O. Box 889
Shepherdstown, West Virginia 25443

Executive Director: Jennifer Lee

Festival Manager:  Hilary Lo

Our Board of Directors

Jeff Feldman, President
A leadership development trainer, team building facilitator and green building consultant, Jeff has been a teacher of one sort or another for over twenty years. With degrees in Environmental Education and Experiential Learning, Jeff served five years on the faculty at Penn State University. In 1993, Jeff founded Eagle’s View Enterprises, a leadership development and team building firm offering training, facilitation and coaching to leaders and organizations across the public and private sectors. Jeff also runs GreenPath Consulting, a green building consulting firm with a focus on supporting people in living more lightly on the planet.  Jeff lives in a solar, strawbale house with his wife, son, dogs, cats and chickens.


Elise Baach, Board Member & co-Vice-President

Elise Baach has worked in Washington, D.C. as an attorney in private practice, in the federal government and in the nonprofit sector. In addition to her legal work, Elise has served as a board member of nonprofit organizations in a variety of fields, including disability advocacy and educational opportunity. Raised in the San Joaquin Valley in California, Elise has a particular interest in issues related to water and agriculture.




Bill McShea, Board Member & co-Vice-President

Bill is a wildlife ecologist for the Smithsonian’s Conservation Biology Institute at Front Royal, Virginia. He received his education at Bucknell University (B.S.), University of New Hampshire (M.S.), and State University of New York at Binghamton (PhD). He is currently co-chair of the IUCN Deer Specialist Group, which is responsible for setting endangerment levels for deer species worldwide, and a member of both the Bear Specialist and Bovid Specialist Groups. He has edited 4 volumes on wildlife management, co-authored a book on deer ecology, and coauthored over 130 scientific publications.  Bill is a founding member of eMammal (, which facilitates citizen science projects using camera traps and displays wildlife data and images through the website.  Bill lives with his wife, Leah, in Berryville, Virginia.

Janna Bond, Secretary

Janna's headshot

Janna is a new resident of West Virginia with a passion for environmental and cultural conservation. An active volunteer, she has aided with several ecology research projects and many community service efforts. She works for a local bank and earned a bachelor’s degree in wildlife ecology and conservation from the University of Florida in 2014.



Mark Burgess, CPA, Treasurer

Mark grew up outside of Hamilton, Virginia where he currently lives with his wife, Erin. He is a Not-for-Profit Section Member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and a member of the Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants. Mark gained a lifelong interest in cultural ecology while studying history and anthropology at James Madison University.





Jeffrey Gustafson, Board Member
Jeffrey has a background in community development and urban planning. Also, through his Masters in Public Administration, he has focused on nonprofit management, human resources, budgeting and financial management. Some of his past experience includes workforce development for Ansted, WV; strategic planning for downtown renewal in Montgomery, WV; and a budget analysis of the State of WV Division of Corrections. Jeffrey serves on two local campaigns: Skinner for WV and The Library Project. He has a passion for promoting walkable communities and affordable housing.



Michael Hobert, Board Member

Michael was born and raised in Clarke County, Virginia, where he has a law practice on Main Street in Berryville.  He believes films are a critical medium to bring public awareness to conservation issues and is excited to support sharing a wide range of documentaries that inform and inspire.  He served for many years as a Virginia County Supervisor and on many non-profit Boards of Directors in the region.




Nick Snow, Board Member
Nick Snow small file

Nick grew up in Cleveland, OH, where he witnessed the burning of the Cuyahoga River and, subsequently, the power of intelligent science to clean up the local waterways. He graduated from Yale University in 1978 with a BS in chemistry and from Ohio State University in 1985 with an MD. He has been in private practice as a gastroenterologist in Winchester, VA, since 1995.

Nick is particularly interested on the impacts of climate change on human health and well-being and has taken courses, attended conferences, and written over 30 editorial pieces on the subject. He is married to Dr. Cathleen McCoy and has two adult children. He lives in Boyce, VA, in a passive and active solar house. Nick hopes to be able to combine his love of the earth and movies to contribute to ACFF.


Our Staff

Jennifer Lee, Executive Director
JLee in blue velvet
Jennifer lives in Clarke County, Virginia, where she grew up and fell in love with woods, animals, fields, rivers, and bugs. She has worked in development, event planning, and outreach for national and local non-profits dedicated to environmental or historical preservation for most of the last 20 years.  She has served as a columnist and contributing editor to the local newspaper, is trying to keep bees, and holds a Communications degree from George Mason University and a Master Gardener’s certification.


Hilary Lo, Festival Manager
Hilary’s professional background includes nonprofit development, community outreach and public education.  Her work has led her to serve young students, adults with a disability, and seniors.  A lifelong interest in environmental and cultural conservation began on a small farm in the West Virginia hills.  She later earned a bachelor’s degree in Education at WVU.  Always engaged in community activism and continuing education, Hilary has served on the Shepherdstown Public Library Board, the PTO and volunteers at local schools.

Past ACFF Board Members

Keith Alexander, Lauren Ames, Amy Mathews Amos, Alice Barkus, Sue Caperton, Steve Chase, Lawrence Cumbo, Chuck Dunkerly, John Grabowska, Jeff Groff, Thomas Harding, Don Henry, Chris Hoelzl, Catherine Irwin, Judy Katz-Leavy, Alex Kemnitzer, Karen Kinnett, Dave Kirkwood, Edward Leavy, David Lillard, Mark Madison, Farzad Mahootian, Rachel Dorsey McGowen, John McGrath, Stan Mopsik, Wendy Mopsik, Sue Pellish, Anne Sechler, Vanessa Serrao, Thomas “Topper” Sherwood, Michael Spensley, Barbara Spicher, Susan Walter, Ann Watson, Lisa Welch, Susan Womeldorf, Lynn Yellott